The Knife of Never Letting Go


PUBLISHED BY: Walker Books / Candlewick Press

RRP: £7.99


The Knife of Never Letting Go

Book 1 in the Chaos Walking trilogy.

Imagine you’re the only boy in a town of men. And you can hear everything they think. And they can hear everything you think. Imagine you don’t fit in with their plans…

Todd Hewitt is just one month away from the birthday that will make him a man. But his town has been keeping secrets from him. Secrets that are going to force him to run…

This unflinching novel about fear, flight and the terrifying path of self-discovery won both the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize and the Booktrust Teenage Prize.

Also features the short story, The New World. Set before the events of The Knife of Never Letting Go, it is the story of Viola’s dramatic journey to the New World.

“Imagine a world where the thoughts of men and boys are broadcast for all to hear, good and bad. Ness’s novel is at once a breakneck thriller and a fable about fear, love and redemption.”

Independent on Sunday

“Chaos Walking is remarkable.”

The Times

“I would press the Chaos Walking trilogy urgently on anyone, anyone at all.”


“Furiously paced, terrifying, exhilarating and heartbreaking, it’s a book that haunts your imagination.”

Sunday Telegraph

In conversation with Patrick Ness

Chaos Walking trailer